One Of Us Is Sleeping

by Josefine Klougart
One Of Us Is Sleeping
  • ISBN-13: 9781940953373
  • Author(s): Josefine Klougart
  • Translated by: Martin Aitken
  • Subject: Fiction in translation|modern fiction
  • Publisher: Open Letter
  • Imprint: Open Letter
  • Publication Date: 28-07-2016
  • Format: p/b

Availability: In stock

£15.99
Working in the vein of Anne Carson, Josefine Klougart's novel is both true-to-life and incredibly poetic in its relating of a brief, intense love affair and the grief and disillusionment that follow its end. While she recounts the time with her lover, the narrator is also heading back home, where her mother is dying of cancer. This contrast between recollection and the belief that certain things will always be present in your life runs throughout the book, underpinning the striking imagery and magnificent prose.
About the book

Working in the vein of Anne Carson, Josefine Klougart's novel is both true-to-life and incredibly poetic in its relating of a brief, intense love affair and the grief and disillusionment that follow its end. While she recounts the time with her lover, the narrator is also heading back home, where her mother is dying of cancer. This contrast between recollection and the belief that certain things will always be present in your life runs throughout the book, underpinning the striking imagery and magnificent prose.