In Sardinia

by Jeff Biggers
In Sardinia

Availability: In stock

£25.00
After three decades of living and traveling in Italy, Jeff Biggers finally crossed over to Sardinia, uncovering a treasury of stories amid major archaeological discoveries rewriting the history of the Mediterranean. Based in the bewitching port of Alghero, guided through the island's rich and largely untranslated literature, he embarked on a rare journey around the island to experience its famed cuisine, wine, traditional rituals and thriving cultural movements. 'Sardinia is something else. Enchanting spaces and distances to travel,' D. H. Lawrence wrote in 1921. On the 100th anniversary of Lawrence's visit, Biggers opens a new window into the history of the island. Beyond its fabled beaches, he reconsiders how its unique history and ways have shaped Italy and Europe today, exploring how travellers must first understand Sardinia and its ancient history to truly understand the rest of Italy. In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Basque History of the World, Peter Hessler's Oracle Bones: A Journey Through in China, and Frances Mayes' and Tim Parks' narratives on Italy, In Sardinia is a major new addition to travel writing and literature in Italy.
About the book

After three decades of living and traveling in Italy, Jeff Biggers finally crossed over to Sardinia, uncovering a treasury of stories amid major archaeological discoveries rewriting the history of the Mediterranean. Based in the bewitching port of Alghero, guided through the island's rich and largely untranslated literature, he embarked on a rare journey around the island to experience its famed cuisine, wine, traditional rituals and thriving cultural movements. 'Sardinia is something else. Enchanting spaces and distances to travel,' D. H. Lawrence wrote in 1921. On the 100th anniversary of Lawrence's visit, Biggers opens a new window into the history of the island. Beyond its fabled beaches, he reconsiders how its unique history and ways have shaped Italy and Europe today, exploring how travellers must first understand Sardinia and its ancient history to truly understand the rest of Italy. In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Basque History of the World, Peter Hessler's Oracle Bones: A Journey Through in China, and Frances Mayes' and Tim Parks' narratives on Italy, In Sardinia is a major new addition to travel writing and literature in Italy.

Books by this Author